I don’t have to worry; The Duke case

The case of the Duke players emphasizes the importance to all of us of the sanctity of law. It doesn’t just protect them, it protects us. Here middle-class whites were punished, severely, for the crime of being middle-class whites. It doesn’t just happen to others, it can happen to us. Under the current standard of innocent until proven too sensational for the media to ignore we are all at risk. Are blacks mistreated by the police and judicial system? I don’t have to worry I’m not black. Are the poor mistreated? I don’t have to worry I’m not poor. Are Muslims picked off the street and thrown in prison for many years without trial? I don’t have to worry, I’m not Muslim. Are the Japanese thrown in concentration camps for the crime of being Japanese? I don’t have to worry, I’m not Japanese. Are …? I don’t have to worry, I’m not … . This case emphasizes that the law protects all of us, and if it breaks down, we all have to worry.

As for the prosecutor, he seems to be guilty of assault with a deadly weapon: the law.

Leave a Reply

